Chocolate Pie with Whipped Topping

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!๐Ÿ€(I’m a little late I know๐Ÿ˜’) How did you celebrate today? My family and I went out to eat at Sumo’s, then went over to my grandma’s house!!

As many know, this holiday is filled with pies, pies…and more pies.๐Ÿ˜‚ I didn’t, unfortunately, get to bake a green dessert for this blog post, but I’m sure chocolate will suffice.๐Ÿ˜‰

Also bad news, I don’t own a pie pan, therefore I had to improvise and bake my pie in an 8 inch springform pan. Either way it tastes delicious!๐Ÿคค

I’m extra, alright, I absolutely HAD to pipe the big, fluffy circle spiraling throughout my pie. (It almost looks like a hurricane๐Ÿ˜ฎ) All the other recipes I’ve seen, the topping as been plopped and spread. Well…I wanted to different.๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘

As you all know, if you have any questions or comments, be sure to say them below!! Good ๐Ÿ€LUCK๐Ÿ€ to you.๐Ÿ˜


Chocolate

  • Servings: 12 slices
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

A deliciously cool, chocolate pie.


Ingredients

    CRUST
  • 9 inch pie crust, such as Pillsbury Pie Crust
  • FILLING

  • 6 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 6 tablespoons flour (coconut or almond flour would work too)
  • 3 cups milk (dairy free milk would be fine also)
  • 4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate
  • 3 ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • WHIPPED TOPPING

  • 1 cup (8 ounces) chilled heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar

Directions

    CRUST

  1. Unroll the Pillsbury dough and spread it in a 8 inch springform pan. Press the edges into the pan.
  2. Bake on 450ยฐF for 10 minutes and cool.
  3. FILLING

  4. In a medium saucepan, combine sugar, flour, and salt and mix.
  5. In a bowl, whisk milk and egg yolks. Pour the milk/egg mixture into the saucepan in a steady stream while stirring.
  6. Cook over medium high heat and whisk frequently for about 6-8 minutes.
  7. Immediately turn down heat and simmer while stirring constantly for 1 minute.
  8. Take the pan off the heat and add the chocolate, butter, and vanilla extract. Stir until smooth.
  9. Pour the filling into the crust and spread evenly over the top. Cover with saran wrap and chill in the refridgerator for at least 8 hours.
  10. WHIPPED TOPPING

  11. Pour the heavy cream into a large, chilled bowl. With an electric mixer, whip on medium-low speed until the beaters begin to leave tracks in the cream.
  12. Add in the sugar and mix until the cream holds medium peaks. If it gets curdled or grainy you’ve overmixed.
  13. Chill for at least 3 hours. Spread evenly over the filling of the pie and refridgerate but ready to serve.

Leave a comment